Verizon Getting iPhone Soon. Maybe. At Some Other Point In Time

5 Jan

I’m not going to lie–I love the iPhone. I bought an iPod Touch just so that I could somewhat pretend that I had an iPhone (No, I never held my iPod Touch to my ear…in public) Unfortunately, me being a Verizon customer, my options are pretty limited in terms of awesome phones. As soon as I bought a Droid, I heard that Apple and Verizon were in talks of releasing the iPhone under the Verizon Network…maybe. Turns out that they’re arguing about pricing because having a smartphone isn’t expensive enough already.

[via]

“In a new note to investors Tuesday morning, Maynard J. Um of UBS Investment Research said that a new iPhone is expected to launch in mid-2010. Whether that phone would be available for Verizon’s CDMA network remains to be seen.

“We believe a CDMA-iPhone is also in the works,” Um wrote, “though believe Verizon Wireless and Apple may currently be apart on pricing.”

Even if Verizon and Apple can’t work out a deal, Um said he believes a CDMA phone is still a possibility. Potential handset launches in China and/or Japan, where carriers operate other CDMA networks, could occur this year.

Last fall, conflicting reports within chip maker Qualcomm suggested a Verizon-capable iPhone could arrive in mid 2010. Whether that handset would be a dual-mode world phone, or a Verizon-only CDMA model was disputed.

And others believe a Verizon iPhone deal is more wishful thinking than anything else. Given that both Verizon and Apple are focused on consumer control, analyst Shaw Wu with Kaufman Bros. previously predicted that the conflicting interests of the two companies would get in the way of an agreement.”

If I were you, I’d just buy a Droid. Maybe you won’t look as cool walking around as you would with an iPhone, but at least you’re on America’s largest and most reliable 3G network. And we used to have James Earl Jones as our spokesperson. Remember? That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

