Michael Bay Says He's Not a Racist, Then Blows Something Up (Not Really)

24 Jun

transform

I saw Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen and I have to say that the twins, Skid and Mudflap, are the two most annoying characters I’ve seen that weren’t Amanda Bynes or Hilary Duff. They seriously do nothing in the movie except blabber on about how they suck and never get to do anything, and use dialogue that mostly consists of “yo” and “nah yo” and “yo man”, and other words that I couldn’t really translate seeing as how I’ve never taken an ebonics class. They also appear illiterate…no wait, they’re definitely illiterate because they said they couldn’t read. What robot doesn’t know how to fucking read? 5 year olds can read. I guess they’re supposed to provide comic relief, but I think the only benefit that came out of those two being in the movie was public exposure to two of GM’s ugliest fucking cars.

[via]

“Director Michael Bay insists that the bumbling ‘bots are just good clean fun.  “We’re just putting more personality in,” Bay said. “I don’t know if it’s stereotypes — they are robots, by the way. [Oh right, I forgot] These are the voice actors. This is kind of the direction they were taking the characters and we went with it.”

TV actor Reno Wilson, who is black, voices Mudflap. Tom Kenny, the white actor behind SpongeBob SquarePants, voices Skids.  Bay said the twins’ parts “were kind of written but not really written, so the voice actors is when we started to really kind of come up with their characters.””

If I were you, I’d wait until the movie comes out on dvd or blu-ray. Or you could just download it in a couple days. It’s not worth the $11 I regrettably paid. It’s literally a typical Michael Bay movie i.e. explosions, revolving angles when the person is talking and standing in one place, light reflections in the camera lens, and a loopy plot. And it’s really awesome how some characters come out of fucking nowhere to help aid in battle. I didn’t mind staring at Megan Fox for 2 1/2 hours though. A lot of the scenes where she’s running are in slo-mo so you can see her bewbs. Righteous.

Leave a Reply

